Home Membership Rates Online Services Products & Services Applications & Forms Contact Us

Aurora Schools Federal Credit Union was founded in 1961 by eight teachers dedicated to creating more benefits and unity within their Aurora Public Schools Community. They wanted to provide Aurora Public Schools staff with an opportunity to pool their resources to create loans for each other and benefit together from the collective income.

The credit union was organized on May 11, 1961, as the Aurora Public Schools Federal Credit Union.  Operations took place in the garage of one of the founders and was only open from 4:15-6:15 p.m. Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Fridays, and from 7 p.m. - 9 p.m. on Wednesdays.  The eight teachers each put in $5, for a total pool of $40.  The first loan was for $5.  You can see from the hours that the teachers were not trying to compete with banks.  But the APS staff stayed with the credit union because it had a higher meaning to form a community of resources for the better of the people they served.  At that time our field of membership was restricted to all regular employees of the Aurora Public School system in Aurora, Colorado. What started as a small organization with 8 school teachers and $40, has experienced tremendous growth, and we continue to see our membership grow to over 7,200 members and over $90 million in assets.  We have also seen the number of branches grow in recent years.  We opened our Highpoint Marketplace Branch on June 17, 2008, and we opened our Pickens Technical College Branch on August 26, 2008. 

With Thanks to our Founding Members
Donald Drollinger Mary Ensor Dorothy Groteluschen Alma Rolak
KL Dunbar Martha Hicks Ethel Rogers L. Anthony Seracino

As the Credit Union continues to grow, our commitment to our mission statement remains our constant focus. We make our members' lives easier and improve their financial success in a changing world.

Aurora Schools Federal Credit Union is Federally Insured by the National Credit Union Administration